Selwyn MP welcomes new Community of Learning

Selwyn news
Friday, May 13, 2016

Selwyn MP Amy Adams has welcomed the formation of another Community of Learning in the Selwyn region. The newly-formed Ngā Mātāpuna o Ngā Pākihi Community of Learning brings together a total of 3,352 students at seven local schools.

The schools included in this new Community of Learning are Broadfield School, Ladbrooks School, Lincoln High School, Lincoln Primary School, Prebbleton School, Springston School and Tai Tapu School.

“Students at these schools will benefit from shared teaching practices and expertise, with teachers working alongside each other on goals to help improve educational outcomes in the classroom,” Ms Adams said.

“I’m proud our schools realise that together they can achieve even more for our children.”

“Across the country, more than 1,000 schools are working together in Communities of Learning to raise student achievement – supporting more than 320,000 Kiwi kids.

“This is 40 per cent of all New Zealand schools.”

The communities are funded through the Government’s $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative. 

Ms Adams said that evidence shows that quality of teaching and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so the Government is supporting those areas.