Selwyn MP welcomes Government grants to local organisations

Selwyn news
Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Selwyn MP Amy Adams has welcomed the allocation of over $50,000 in Government-funded grants to non-profit organisations in the Selwyn area.

Ms Adams said that she had received a list of Canterbury-based recipients of grants under the Community Organisation Grants Scheme (COGS) for the 2015/16 year from Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector Jo Goodhew.

“I am thrilled to see so many of our local playcentres, toy libraries and other community organisations will be receiving grants to help them carry on the great work they do in our communities,” Ms Adams said.

Selwyn organisations receiving COGS grants include:

Darfield, Dunsandel, Lincoln, Prebbleton, Rolleston, Southbridge and West Melton Playcentres;
Ellesmere Community Care Organisation;
Ellesmere Toy Library and Lincoln Community Toy Library;
Lincoln and Districts Community Care Association;
Lincoln Area Senior Citizens;
Lincoln Envirotown Trust;
Malvern Community Vehicle Trust; and
Selwyn Parenting Network

“The grants are highly valued because they make a vital contribution to keeping local social services and other initiatives operating across New Zealand,” Ms Adams said.

Ms Adams noted that the funding decisions were made by 37 COGS local distribution committees throughout New Zealand, which are run by local volunteers, as they are best placed to allocate funding to address local needs.

A full list of the 4,164 grants distributed in the 2015/16 year is available on the Department of Internal Affairs website:

- ENDS -