Get Updates

The National-led Government has announced Ultra-Fast Broadband will be extended to a further 13 areas in Selwyn, local MP Amy Adams says.

The areas to be included are:

  • Arthurs Pass
  • Castle Hill
  • Coalgate/Glentunnel
  • Doyleston
  • Dunsandel
  • Duvauchelle
  • Hororata
  • Kirwee
  • Little River
  • Prebbleton (two areas)
  • Tai Tapu
  • Takamatua
  • Waddington/Sheffield

“This is fantastic news for Selwyn. Rolling out world-class broadband is a vital part of the Government’s plan to support regional growth and we are investing a total of $233.3 million on UFB connectivity here in Canterbury,” Ms Adams says.

“Furthermore State Highway 1 and a number of areas in Selwyn including Bealey, Birdlings Flat, Le Bons Bay, Little River and Okains Bay will also receive new mobile coverage,” Ms Adams says.

Ms Adams noted that this was part of a Government investment of up to $140 million to extend the Rural Broadband Initiative across the country and to provide mobile coverage through the Mobile Black Spot Fund to around 1,000 kilometres of state highways and more than 100 tourist areas.

Share this post